The Cookie Quest

Have you ever done a search for a recipe for perfect chocolate chip cookies or the best chocolate chip cookies? I just did one for perfect chocolate chip cookies and got 826,000 hits. And of course if you check them out, each and every one will be different in some way.

I don’t know about you but those three words together always brings a smile to my face. For just about everyone, these cookies bring back memories of cookies from childhood, whether it be from a mother, grandmother or generous neighbor; making this one of the most comforting cookies ever created.  I think that’s why at some point, every baker goes on a hunt for what they would consider perfect chocolate chip cookies: to recreate the recipe that brought such pleasant memories, and of course no two people want the same qualities for a cookie to earn that title.

I personally believe a chocolate chip cookie should (among other things) be overloaded with chocolate chips, rather large, sweet and super soft. I’ve been working to get the perfect consistency and taste for quite a while with no luck. Don’t get me wrong, they have all been decent, I’ve even gotten “great,” but nothing I would consider perfect.

This recipe is just one more step in my personal quest. I put aside the recipe I have been playing with and started from scratch on this one, hoping it might get me closer. I’ve also been playing with adding cinnamon and/or chocolate liquor with much luck but as very basic as it is, I wanted to follow this recipe as closely as possible, changing only one thing to see what I would get. 

chocolate chip cookies

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies 
adapted from recipe found on: Cooking for Engineers 

1 cup unsalted butter (softened)
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 1/4 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 cups (or more) chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350

1. Mix the flour, salt and baking soda in a small bowl. Set aside.

2. Cream the butter and both sugars. Set aside for a few minutes to allow the sugars to dissolve.

3. Add the vanilla to the sugar-butter mixture. Beat in the eggs one at a time.

4. Beat in the flour mixture one at a time. Stir in chocolate chips.

5. Refrigerate the dough for 15-20 minutes. Scoop large spoonfuls of dough (1-2 tablespoons) onto cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes until edges have lightly browned and middle is still very soft and wet.

6. Wait as long as you can to let them cool, then enjoy 🙂

chocolate chip cookies

p.s. a co-worker just gave these a big thumbs up … and she had them three days after they were baked 🙂

2 Responses to The Cookie Quest

  1. ovenhaven says:

    Yessss, the perfect chocolate chip cookie should be super soft and overloaded with chocolate chips! I’m a HUGE fan of chewy cookies; I’ll keep popping one after another. Somehow crunchy ones just don’t hit the spot.

  2. lcsa99 says:

    ovenhaven: I think crunchy ones are good with tea, so they do have their place in this world but the chewy are the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

