An Old Favorite

I found out early last week that after the convention on saturday I was going to be joining my friends for their weekly/semi-weekly gaming night. This is a first for me, joining anyone for this kind of thing, but they’re really a great group of people, so I knew it would be fun and of course, I wanted to bake something special for them (I did not expect my tart to last long enough) 🙂

Now, I could have gone the easy route and just baked two tarts, but I wanted to try something else so out came my cookbooks and cache of recipes.

I actually considered making the same chocolate chip cookies I made last month, especially considering it would be nice to get some more input on them, but my dear friend Dean is not a big fan of chocolate (he doesn’t hate it, but it’s just “alright”) so I wanted to make something he might actually like and decided to go with one of the next best things…cinnamon!

I do not know anyone that doesn’t like snickerdoodles. They’re sweet, they lack chocolate so that covers those poor people with allergies and those that just don’t care for chocolate (yes, it’s shocking but there are people like that out there), and they’re fun to say! This is a classic cookie and one of my favorites.

The recipe came from my Magnolia cookbook. They are the ones that make the cupcakes everyone raves about. I have been a little intimidated about trying the cupcake recipes yet (I promise to try one later this year) but the cookies are all great. btw, some @#$@# in the bookstore ripped out a few pages of the book and I didn’t notice until I tried to look them up! If anyone has the book and is willing to mail/fax/email me the missing pages I would love you forever 🙂

Okay, enough already, on with the fun stuff.

Snickerdoodles
Source: Magnolia Cookbook

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs at room temperature
2 tbl milk
1 tsp vanilla extract

6 tbl sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon

In a small bowl, combine the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. Set aside

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar until smooth. Add the eggs, milk and vanilla and beat well. Add the dry ingrediets and mix thoroughly. Wrap the dough in saran wrap and chill in the refridgerator for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350F

Mix the remaining sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Crop the dough by rounded spoonfuls onto cookie sheets, leaving several inches between them. Keep in mind these spread more than most. Sprinkle generously with the cinnamon/sugar mixture. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until the edges are lightly browned.

Let the cookies cool on a wire rack for as long as you can wait. Enjoy.

This is really the kind of cookie that can please anyone, and they always seem to go so fast! It’s amazing that something lacking chocolate can still be so wonderful.

5 Responses to An Old Favorite

  1. Snickerdoodles are my favorite and I’ve never made them. Ever.

  2. lcsa99 says:

    Holy crap. You should! They are incredibly easy, and that way you can have them any time you want! 🙂

  3. If I had them any time I’d want the next thing you’d know I’d be on the TV beging carried out on a fork lift because I was so big!

  4. Foodie Cutie says:

    “It’s amazing that something lacking chocolate can still be so wonderful.”

    Haha this made me laugh

  5. lcsa99 says:

    tee hee but it’s so true!

    It’s the cinnamon and sugar topping that makes it great 🙂

Leave a Reply

