The Hands-On Approach

So a while ago I mentioned that my pasta machine broke. It’s very sad. I missed making pasta enough that I got to the point that I even opened the damn thing up and tried to fix it myself. I thought I got it but of course when I tried to use it again it refused to play nice. *sigh* No problem, once I get that stimulous money I will be buying myself another. 🙂

In the meantime, I still miss making pasta, and friday night it hit me that there were types of pasta that didn’t need to be rolled out! I could make some of that easily! So yesterday I did just that. I made Cavatelli!

It’s an easy enough process, but takes a while so make sure you have the time before you start. It is well worth it though. It’s always so soothing to work with dough.

Cavatelli
Source: Eating Cleveland

16 oz. Ricotta Cheese
2 Eggs
1 Pinch of Salt
3 Cups (1 pound) All Purpose Flour
 

Pour about 2 1/2 cups of the flour into a bowl and make a well in the middle.  Add the eggs and cheese and stiring in circles, mix everything up well. Add more flour it needed.

Dump the dough out onto your work surface and knead it well, working in more flour as needed until you have a soft but not sticky dough. Cover and allow to rest for 30 minutes or more.

Divide the dough into at least eight balls (the smaller the balls, the easier it is to work with so you might even want to make it 16) cover all but one ball of dough. Take the ball you’re working with and roll it between your palms above your work surface, working it into a long thin tube. Once it gets harder to work with like that, place on the work surface and roll out with your palms until you have a long thin tube about 1/4 inch diameter.

Cover and work out the other balls the same way then cut each tube into pieces 1/2 to 1 inch long. 

With a pastry cutter or the flat edge of a butter knife, angle the blade at approximately 45 degrees, then starting at the far edge and pulling the dough towards you, drag the blade across the dough. It should roll up around the edge of the blade. Drop your cavatelli into a well floured pan and continue working till you’ve done all of the dough.

To cook, drop by handfuls into well salted boiling water and cook until it begins to float. Test one before taking them off the heat but fresh cavatelli should only need a few minutes to cook. Enjoy 🙂

8 Responses to The Hands-On Approach

  1. Wow, those look great! Hand made pasta is so wonderful!

  2. LisaRene says:

    I too am a huge carb lover and these are certain to be incredibly good. Homemade is the best!

  3. grace says:

    good for you! i’ve never tried my hand at making homemade pasta (yeah, yeah, i’m a coward), but it looks doable. added bonus: it seems to be like goofing around with playdoh!

  4. lcsa99 says:

    WOR: Fresh pasta really is great. It’s always nice to get a tasty treat after working all day on it.

    Lisa Rene: Homemade is always the best! 🙂

    Grace: LOL It is like playing with playdoh. And the best part is you can eat it after without anyone yelling at you 🙂

  5. grace says:

    i know i already commented on this, but i’m still impressed, and i tagged you. either you’re welcome or i’m sorry, whichever is fitting. 🙂

  6. lcsa99 says:

    You should really try it yourself. I was really happy with the results and you don’t need any special equipment or anything.

  7. Stefani says:

    This was fun to make and really easy, but I didn’t love it. I don’t know if it’s just because I don’t like Cavatelli in general. I’m not sure that I’ve ever had it. It was too heavy and doughy for me. It reminded me of gnocchi. Maybe I just shouldn’t have thought of it as pasta?

    Anyway, I liked the step by step pics that you had. They were really helpful.

  8. lcsa99 says:

    Yeah it is pretty heavy. I’ll be making other, more pasta-type pastas in the near future so keep an eye out, you’ll probably like them a lot more.

    I’m glad my pics helped, and glad you decided to try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

