Just Desserts

One of my favorite bloggers, Evil Chef Mom has declared this day a day to paaaaarty! That means all of us out in this lovely world of blogging are preparing incredible dishes for our virtual pot luck!

Three guesses what I made…..yup, you guessed it, CHOCOLATE! It’s a little early for dessert, of course, but who says you have to save the chocolate till after dinner? hehe

Aaaand to make things even better for all of you out there joining our party, I came home to a wonderful treat last night. You see, Blake, of Blake Makes does wonderful food givaways for his faithful followers, and this last one gave every single one of us…yup, you guessed it…CHOCOLATE! Free Amano chocolate 🙂

I cannot tell you how great this chocolate is. I used the Ocumare for this recipe, but I had to of course eat some of it straight. For that I chose the Cuyagua, a limited edition chocolate and I gotta tell you, this stuff is amazing. It has such full flavor and body, like a fine wine. You should really check out the site and order some yourself.

But enough of that for now, you guys want the good stuff don’t you? Well how does this sound? Pudding, Chocolate Whipped Cream and Brownie crumbs, all with a little (okay, a LOT) of godiva dark chocolate liqueur? Hehe.

This stuff is perfect for any party, because not only is it easy and tasty, but it’s really easy to make it pretty, too 🙂

Triple Chocolate Pudding Parfait
Adapted from recipe on Epicurious

pudding
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsweetended cocoa powder
pinch of salt
2 cups whole milk
4 oz chocolate, finely chopped
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
generous splash of chocolate liqueur

whipped cream
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon chocolate liqueur

about 1 cup of brownies, crumbled
more chocolate liqueur

Mix all of the ingredients for the whipped cream in a bowl, but do not whip yet. Put in the fridge with your beaters/whisk to chill.

Whisk cornstarch, sugar, cocoa and salt in a saucepan, then gradually whisk in milk.

Bring to a boil, whisking constantly. Allow to boil until it’s nice and thick. Do not stop whisking while it’s cooking. Remove from heath and whisk in chopped chocolate and butter until melted.

Transfer pudding to a metal bowl and quick-chill by setting in an ice bath, stirring constantly. Allow to sit until you’re ready.

Take out the bowl with the whipped cream ingredients and beat until stiff peaks form.

Now comes the fun part. Sprinkle some of the brownie crumbs into the glasses/serving bowl/ dish you wish to use. drizzle on some of the liqueur, then layer the pudding and whipped cream. Repeat as many times as you can. Garnish as desired. Enjoy 🙂

I really had fun making this. If you’re gonna be sharing with kids you can take out the chocolate liqueur completely, and just replace it with vanilla for the whipped cream.  The Amano chocolate really made a difference with this. I have one more bar left, and already have a great idea for it 🙂

11 Responses to Just Desserts

  1. RecipeGirl says:

    Those look completely decadent and yummy (and pretty too!)

  2. OOOMMMGGGG is all I can say, soooooooooooo yummy. I’m so glad I am partying with y’all !!!!

  3. melissa says:

    what a perfect and perfectly beautiful dessert. very, very cool.

  4. That is so not potluck fare. And man am I glad Evil Chef Mom invited you to our potluck.

    Mayberry Magpie

  5. Ummmmm. All this Choclate makes my teefies hurt!

  6. grace says:

    oh me. this is the type of treat that would send me into a coma after one bite. then, when i snapped out of it, i’d go back for more. it’s a vicious cycle. 🙂

  7. Neen says:

    Oh my Gaaaawd that’s outrageously decadent! I feel overwhelmed just looking at it. I totally dig the chocolate liqueur addition, very appropriate for a backyard party. 🙂 And I’m so glad that you came to Krysta’s shinding, it’s always fun to meet friends of friends… especially in the blogger world, when one gets to hang out in others’ kitchen from day 1!

  8. lcsa99 says:

    Thanks everyone 🙂

    Mayberry: Yeah, it isn’t really potluck fare but it could work if you put it all in one big bowl…it’s just prettier this way 🙂

    Neen: I agree! It’s always fun to cook with other people and a great way to bond!

  9. Oh Heaven… you ARE the devil in disguise! Thank you for doing this.

  10. ovenhaven says:

    I’ve always drooled at anything double chocolate, but triple chocolate??? You had me licking my computer screen.

  11. Asthmagirl says:

    I would have licked my computer screen, but it”s still sticky from sloshing those drinks Noble Pig made!
    This looked awesome!

Leave a Reply

