No Introduction Needed

Some recipes are easy to blog about. Whatever I baked just introduces itself, either because of what it is, the reason I chose to try it or whatever. These cupcakes, for some reason have been the exact opposite. I made them around June, and though they were absolutely amazing, rich, moist, chocolatey, with soft melted chocolate bottoms, I have really been drawing a blank.

I found this recipe on I Heart Cuppycakes (don’t you just love that name?) and I don’t really know what it is about these things that fascinated me so much. Wine and alcohol in general always seems to work well with chocolate, so it’s a pretty logical jump to add it to cupcakes (hell, I’ve already done it with brownies!), but even with my great lack of knowledge of wines, I just had to try this one.

I didn’t even want to wait for a real reason (a.k.a a party, a holiday, whatever) so I made these as both regular and bite-sized cupcakes, and loved them and then sat waiting for inspiration to strike so I could blog it. Well I have finally given up on the idea of a brilliant introduction, and have brushed the imaginary dust off the pictures so I can share it with all of you.

Red Wine Cupcakes
Slightly adapted from: I Heart Cuppycakes

1-1/4 cup sugar
1 cup flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 large egg
2/3 cup sour cream
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup red wine
1/4 cup boiling water
1 bag of chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line cupcake tins with papers, or grease well.

Combine sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a large bowl.

Cream the egg, sour cream, oil and wine together in mixer for two minutes. Stir in flour mixture until well combined.

Add 1/4 cup boiling water and stir. Fold in chocolate chips. Batter will be fairly thin. Pour into prepared cupcake tins and bake for approximately 17-20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Once they have cooled completely, cover with frosting, as desired. Enjoy!

The batter of these things was so thin that the chocolate chips all sunk to the bottom and melted, leaving a soft, creamy, amazing cupcake. It’s like having icing on the tops and bottoms! How could anyone resist that? 🙂

3 Responses to No Introduction Needed

  1. ovenhaven says:

    The first photo is just too cute! 😀

  2. lcsa99 says:

    LOL thank you. I just couldn’t help myself with that one 🙂

  3. I love the glass of wine with these amazing cupcakes! it’s the only way to enjoy your amazing chocolatety creations!

Leave a Reply

