Sweetness By Request

I am one of those people that try to please everyone. I know, I know, it’s never a good idea, but I do enjoy making people happy. So when not just one, but two people commented about their interest in the cinnamon-sugar crackers, I just had to try it 🙂

I am pretty happy I did cause they really did turn out great, so ladies, I hope you’ll try it yourself. They’re well worth it!

Cinnamon Sugar Crackers
Source: Straight From the Farm

2 ½ c. flour
2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 t. salt
4 T. olive oil
¾ c. cold water

For sprinkling on top:
3 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 F.  Mix dry ingredients together in a medium bowl being sure to get everything well blended.  Add the oil and half of the water and begin mixing.  Add more water as necessary to form a rough dry dough.  Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead just until it comes together into a cohesive ball.

Divide dough into even quarters.  On a piece of parchment paper, roll dough as thin as possible.  Cut the dough into squares or other desired shape and use a fork to prick each square.  Sprinkle generously with cinnamon/sugar mix.

Bake for 15 minutes, or until golden brown, turning the sheet once half way through.  While the first batch is baking, roll out another quarter of dough.  Let baked crackers cool before breaking apart.  Store in a ziplock bag. Enjoy

This is a wonderful treat, and it would be something fun to make with kids since it is so very easy.

Oh and I was tagged, so I might as well add it here. Grace from A Southern Grace was tagged for a new game called “Look What I Made” and decided to pass on the love. Basically, you compile a list of five recipes that you’ve tried from other blogs. Not so hard for me since that seems to be where I’ve gotten most of the recipes on this blog 🙂

The creator of this little game, Farida of Farida’s Azerbaijani Cookbook, says that “this is a great opportunity to give kudos to the fellow foodies whose recipes we used and inspire them to post more of their yummies. A way to say thank you for what they do. I also think this tag will help us discover some interesting recipes and blogs out there. There are a lot of delicious recipes hidden somewhere in the archives, and this tag may actually give them another chance to shine.”

So here we go five things I’ve made:

Artisan Herb Crackers from Straight From the Farm
Buttermilk Biscuits from For the Love of Food
Cheesy Bread Braid from Cookie Baker Lynn
Kahlua Hot Chocolate from We [Heart] Food
and
Hearty Potato Bread from A Year in Bread

Unfortunately I don’t have that many readers yet, so I don’t have many people to choose from to tag back. However, I will go with Krysta, the Evil Chef Mom, Either/both Todd and Diane from White on Rice Couple and Lisa Rene from Little Bits. Hopefully you guys will have fun with it and not hate me forever 🙂

8 Responses to Sweetness By Request

  1. ahhhh! more stuff on my list of to dos! have you read my blog lately? just kidding. I’ll do it and not hate you at all.

  2. lcsa99 says:

    At least you can have fun with this chore, right? And you can torture the many other bloggers on your list

  3. grace says:

    yes…now that’s the kind of cracker i like. sugar and cinnamon send me to my happy place. 🙂 thanks for making me happy!

  4. ovenhaven says:

    This sounds great! I love cinnamon sugar, so consider this bookmarked 😀

  5. lcsa99 says:

    Yay! Let me know how it turns out for you if/when you do try it 🙂

  6. magpie says:

    Hi! I’m your partner for T&C 🙂 I think I’m going to make these – I LOVE cinnamon and these remind me a little bit of the cinnamon sugar Stacy’s pita chips, which are great.

  7. Hippolyra says:

    I made these for T&C and they were lovely!

    I am very very late to it and apologise, but the write up will be up later today.

  8. […] the end I chose to make cinnamon-sugar crackers, I had been reading about Snickerdoodles on the internet and was craving cinnamon so these were […]

Leave a comment